Frankie Says Relax…

Standard

Relaxing… Its meant to be good for you generally. It’s good for your health and well-being, helps you to concentrate better, remember things better and most importantly, stops you from being a neurotic bitch.  Have you ever been to a yoga class? I have. Did it relax me? No. Did I go back? Yes. How many times, you ask? Three whole months. I went to yoga class twice a week for 3 months just to learn how to relax because I was determined to and it didn’t work. I guess it was because I was trying too hard to relax. Who knows? One thing I learned in yoga though, I can do great maths in my head! In a 45 minute yoga class, I could do my monthly budget and plan how many shoes I could realistically buy without breaking the bank.

This post isn’t about yoga though. It’s about the fact that I do not know how to relax. My brain is constantly ticking away and I sometimes wonder if its insanity. I mean, everyone has conversations with themselves in their heads, right? Right?? Am I right? No? OK! Just me then! Just last night, I was lying in bed counting sheep so I could fall asleep (worse idea ever, by the way!) and the oddest thought popped into my head; what if I was not a real person but a ghost in someone’s body? I know, right? Barking mad, me! I actually started laughing at myself and decided to accept the fact that I was going insane.

I wish I could be one of those people who can just clear their minds and be laid back about everything but I guess I’m not. I mean, I have to think about things over and over. I over think the slightest things (ask any of my friends) and I take myself way too seriously (but that is because my inner diva tells me how awesome I am). I plan for every possible scenario and always try to be a step ahead of myself. I suppose it’s what life has taught me. If you spend a lot of time on your own, you tend to be your own saviour and in the process, end up being a neurotic paranoid crazy woman who sings stupid songs in your head while trying to work out important stuff. At the same time.  I suppose if I was one of those perfectly sane, cool, calm and collected people (not just on the outside), I would be able to shelve my thoughts every day before I go to bed because thinking too much leads to not relaxing. Not relaxing leads to lack of sleep. Lack of sleep leads to getting a cold every month for almost 6 months, forgetting things as soon as I’ve thought about them, being grouchy and generally a nightmare to be around.

Wait, none of that made any sense! Ah well, It’s only my first blog in as many months…

4 responses »

  1. I love the quote ‘stop the glamorization of busy’ and I think you explain why perfectly in this post. We need to stop our busy lives once in awhile and time time for ourselves to clear our minds and simply relax.

Leave a Reply

